Romagna Lands

A general look on Romagna
The production area of Romagna Sangiovese DOC extends from south of via Emilia, in the hilly and pre-Apennines region of Romagna, from the eastern border of the municipality of Bologna to the province of Rimini. The appellation covers a total viticulture surface of 7000 hectares and 100 wineries that produce under their own mark. Overall production is about 16 million bottles. The new production regulations, which came into force since the 2011 vintage, recognises 5 types of wine, with the classic Sangiovese, Sangiovese Superiore and Sangiovese Riserva joined by two new types with additional geographical mention (farmed and vinified within the specific sub-areas): Sangiovese and Riserva


The new regulations divide the Romagna Sangiovese region into 12 sub-areas included in the Faenza, Forli and Cesena districts. Currently the regulations have not taken into consideration the two outermost production areas (east and west of the appellation), falling within the Rimini and Imola districts, in which therefore Romagna Sangiovese may be produced with no sub-area indication. However, for more exhaustive mapping the areas of Imola and Rimini will also be described in brief.